Called to be different

February 22, 2012 § 3 Comments

 

Short-called today, after long last. Such a wonderful comradely feeling amongst us getting called together. There’s nothing like being (and I coin this phrase) a ‘[insert firm name here] kid – which, although you outgrow pretty soon after getting shortcalled, nevertheless feels great whist it lasts. It’s just a sense of belonging to a group of people who’re going through what you’re going through, who’ve got your (tired) back, and who won’t judge that side of you, at least. And sometimes, it feels like, in the world of the marketplace out there, no one knows what it’s like till you’ve stepped in there. And that world is cutting-edge.

I find myself being challenged every day. On some days, it’s the challenge to stay awake. Other days, it’s to keep my cool and respond to everything emergency with a fridge demeanour. On other days, it’s struggling to keep my mind focussed on the task. And yet on other days, I wish people wouldn’t keep coming through that door and disturbing me with their footsteps, glances and intentions.

And although this firm is generally a well-to-do atmosphere to be in, you get a sense that everybody’s still trying to learn from one another. You never feel like someone already thinks they’ve “got it”. Instead, they’re always trying to better themselves.

When I think of the life I have here, and the life I could have had (more easily), I find myself knowing that I wouldn’t exchange, change or pawn it away in exchange for something easier…

Life is challenging, and when you’ve got that down, learn to think of it as challenging in a fun way.
 

 

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Called to be different

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Called to be different at Comic Room Places.

meta

